Absolute beginner's guide to database design

tasslehoff burrfoot 23:20 25 Jun 08

Hello

Can anyone recommend an online resource for learning database design?

It's the principles I'm interested in mainly, I've played around with php and mysql and am okay with them at the moment but what I don't understand is how to actually create the database - how many tables will I need, what goes in which table, how do you link the tables etc.

TIA

Forum Editor 19:26 26 Jun 08
  tasslehoff burrfoot 22:04 26 Jun 08

FE

Thanks for that, I don't think it's what I was looking for but I can see it will be useful all the same.

I will try to clraify what I'm asking:

I don't have a specific projec t in mind at the moment but as an a example, let's say I wanted to make a football prediction league website.

What I don't understand is how I would structure the database (or even how many databses I would need).

I'm guessing I would need a table for users, one for the football teams, one for the fixtures, one for the results, one for the user's predictions.

Or would I need a separate database for each of those things?

How would I link all the different tables (or databases) so that looking up a user in the user table can return how well their past predictions have done and what future predictions they have made?

And how would I use the results table to inform the user's table to see who has the most points?

Hope this makes sense, thank you

Taran 08:49 27 Jun 08

You've asked many questions which, combined, would take pages upon pages of answering.

Here are a couple of links to Open Source Fantasy Football league scripts written in PHP with a MySQL database that you can poke around in: click here and click here

They should give you some ideas of the possibilities surrounding database structures, not to mention having the ready made PHP to play around with.

Database design is a huge topic and not easily covered briefly.