Absolute beginner Flight Simulator

Guardsman2 15:12 30 Nov 08

Hi out there. I am a 'Silver Surfer'. I would love to be able to have a Flight Sim. that is easy to use. Have tried Microsoft Flight Sim...far to complex for me. Need something really simple, just want to take off, cruise around and land...nothing fancy. Minimum controls. Does not have to be modern aircraft. WW1 types OK by me. Even Helicopters. My set up is a PC with Quad Core Processer, 3GB RAM, a decent Graphics Card, plenty of spare disc space on my 320GB Hard Disc. If anyone out there can help guide me in the right direction, I will be extremely grateful. Guardsman2

Diemmess 15:28 30 Nov 08

Its 3 or four years since I last loaded a MS flight simulator game (WW2 Combat simulator), but I can understand how you are feeling

Perhaps your best route is to acquire an older version. I have the 98 version and even that offers immensely complex things to do.

Shun (at this stage) a wealth of complicated and expensive addons, and just get used to circuits and bumps in the variety of nmachines in the programme

I prefer the instant action of Combat F/S though the second CD in that series, war in the pacific, I never grew to love - The Japs got me much too often/soon.

The basic flight simulator has no combats and I suppose rewards those who take it very seriously, fly very accurately, sticking to the rules and if not bored to tears feel satisfaction doing what others have told you to do.

tristar 15:57 30 Nov 08

As a retired aviator might I suggest you avoid helicopter simulators? They can be a b****r to fly.
As Diemmess suggests Combat F/S is probably the best way to get into it, they are not so demanding of piloting skills and let you learn while having fun.

Technotiger 16:27 30 Nov 08

Hi, I have two Flight Sims that I no longer use as I have FSX Deluxe among others - you are welcome to have them FOC, Flight Unlimited II and M'soft Combat Flight Sim (WWII Series).