//some 3rd party need geo

Abit KG7-RAID, setting up dual boot.

crx1600 20:29 07 Aug 03

not sure where to start.

KG7-RAID, it has the on-board HPT370 controller, currently running XPpro.

using PM7 to add win98se (following fleccs post) but the installation fails to locate several files, and before each win98se startup i am warned 'vnetbios.vxd' is missing.

in win98se, device manager shows an exclamation on 'PCI mass storage device' and the HDD is missing from 'Disk drives'

the only software i can find for the HPT370 are like a BIOS flash, should i have to do this, when a version has already been installed from XP?

i have no experience of RAID, and an evenings reading up hasnt helped, what is the correct set up for just 1 HDD, or can i just ignore RAID and use the IDE route?

thanks.

OneSirKnight 20:48 07 Aug 03

unless you have another hdd exactly the same as the one one you have installed, just ignore ,its for creating a mirror image of your excisting hard drive ,plus other things,but if you dont intend seting up a second hard drive, just forget about it until you familurise yourself with raid.
click here

OneSirKnight 20:51 07 Aug 03

unless you have another hdd exactly the same as the one one you have installed, just ignore ,its for creating a mirror image of your excising hard drive ,plus other things,but if you don't intend setting up a second hard drive, just forget about it until you familiarise yourself with raid
apologies about spelling, here is the correct version

click here

crx1600 21:09 07 Aug 03

thanks for the reply,

id like to ignore it, but i think it is already set up in XP.(and i just want to add 98)

so how do i return to a conventional set up?

the HDD is currently plugged into IDE3, and appears in XP as a SCSI disk device.

OneSirKnight 22:42 07 Aug 03

yes it will show as a scsi device as its on your motherboard, just disable it as follows