The ABC of a Wired Network

mun 20:40 04 Aug 04

Hi, firstly let me apologise for asking a basic question but since this is my first time with networks and broadband, can I spell out what I think is needed and then ask if someone can tell me if I have the right end of the stick??!!! I've looked at the archive posts and the netgear.co.uk web site but I'm still confused!

I'm trying to link at least 2 PC's together and also have both able to access the internet via Broadband (adsl NOT cable)directly.

My broadband provider is connecting up at the end of August but is not supplying a modem etc.
Both of my PC's have Network Cards (10/100 ones) and USB ports (and Microsoft XP). I want to put a telephone on the same connection.

So I figured if I buy a combined router/modem box that has 4 ports, I can do the following:
1) Connect the 2 PC's to the Modem/router using two Cat5(e) network cables with RJ45 connectors at each end.
2) Connect the modem/router to an ADSL splitter/filter and plug this filter into the BT socket. ( I presume the "connection" between the splitter and the router comes either with the router or the splitter, and is not an extra cable??)
3) Connect the telephone into the filter.

I do not need to use the USB ports. The power for the router is an external plug.
One further question is that even the words Broadband and ADSL seem to be used in different ways. The Netgear site says there's 3 different routers: ADSL, Wireless and Broadband. Wow! I thought ADSL and Broadband were the same! Do they mean Cable is one of these???

I hope I have this right,any help would be appreciated. If this is right but others feel that there is a better way of doing it,I'd love to hear that too!
Thanks,
John

johnnyrocker 20:44 04 Aug 04

click here and click here should help you out.

johnny.

mun 05:48 05 Aug 04