9 days since infection & still no nearer a fix

andrew-203239 13:11 10 May 04

My wife's pc (running Windows XP Home) is showing symptoms of several viruses but none of the downloads from MS or Symantec have been able to tag what we have.

So far, we've had the "system shuts down in 60 seconds" message (Blaster or Sasser?), we're barred from accessing the Symantec or MS site on the infected pc (Agobot?), and it takes an eternity to start up with zillions of files being launched & system resources almost maxing out.

I've downloaded virus update files from Symantec (via pc #2), loaded them to the infected pc but Norton (Internet 04) then showed that it had been tampered (with) & needs un/reinstalling. Tried Panda and Sophos, but no further forward there either.

Caught this when downloading update files from MS last Saturday week - really impressed!! Going round in circles.

If anyone can help (and God knows we need it!) - please note that I'm not technical, so words of one syllable please!

Thanks

stlucia 13:16 10 May 04

An up-to-date AVG from click here should deal with them all. But you need to make sure that system restore is switched off while you deal with them.

Confab 13:19 10 May 04

You could try the free online scan from Trend.
click here

It's very good.

Confab

Lionheart ? 13:22 10 May 04

Read here may help click here

spikeychris 13:25 10 May 04

Disconnect the computer from the Internet
connection.

When Windows opens and you see the Windows desktop,
click Start > Run.
Type:

cmd

and press Enter.

Type:

shutdown -i

and press Enter.

In the Remote Shutdown Dialogue that opens, change 20
seconds to:

and click OK.

This gives you about three hours to get the patch
installed, update the definitions, and so on.

Alternatively type shutdown -a into run to prevent the shutdown.

Belatucadrus 14:27 10 May 04

click here for another free cleaner that'll fit on a floppy

spuds 15:20 10 May 04