7200rpm and 5400rpm

AMD 4 ever 10:03 23 Feb 03

The new drive is 7200rpm and the old drive is 5400rpm, now at times it seems the 5400rpm is faster to access. Could it be that the 5400rpm is about 10GB, nd the 7200rpm is 60GB...also the 60GB has a 8mb cache i believe.

Spec det are: p>
AMD Athl 2200XP p>
ASUS mobo p>
60GB WD Caviar 7200rpm p>
2 Port PCI USB 2.0 p>
Nvidia GF4 MX440 64MB p>
DVD + CDRW Both are Sony. p>
56k PCI Mod p>

p> p>
Any opinions, not really any problems to be honest, more curious!?

-pops- 10:48 23 Feb 03

Don't know if this is real but your new drive is six x bigger but only 1.38 x faster therefore there is 4.35 x more to search per unit time. Does that make sense? Just a thought anyway!

Brian

AMD 4 ever 10:53 23 Feb 03

Yes this is logical. which without the maths was my thinking too.

thanks 4 the reply.

Pesala 13:04 23 Feb 03

I am no expert, but surely the software only has to search the FAT table to find the file, and then move the read head to locate it? It doesn't have to search the whole drive.

I wonder if it could be something as simple as the PATH statement. Again, mere guesswork.

He who seeks, shall find.

-pops- 13:13 23 Feb 03

I don't deny it was guesswork on my part, hence my cautious approach to the reply.

I wasn't suggesting that the heads had to search the whole drive, merely that, on the larger drive, there is six times as much of whatever it searches compared with the smaller drive but, it can only do it at 1.38 times the speed.

Brian

Djohn 13:23 23 Feb 03

AMD 4 ever, in theory the new drive should be a lot faster than the old. What you want to look for is the *seek time* or *access speed* of each drive, that is what will give you a more accurate guide to the *finding of info*. speeds of the drives. J.

DieSse 13:30 23 Feb 03

The problem is, "at times it seems the 5400rpm is faster to access" is hardly a scientific test.