7 yr old pc up the creek; help me save it

savemypc 10:14 27 Aug 07

Can you help me decide what to do with my old PC? Is it worth the expense of fixing up? I am not very experienced with the guts of the beast, so may have to resort to hired help. Its Packard Bell running windows ME.

The PROBLEM: when I start it, it starts windows up but then pretty soon the screen freezes black, with a portion of the old display still showing on the bottom tenth of the screen.

BACKGROUND INFO: In the last year or so the pc has had issues; after the pc has been switched off from the elctric supply eg after a power cut, we have always had to reset the cmos(?) settings (the computer beeps twice and says checksum wrong or something like that. ) as it goes back to 2000 on the day/time. This has happened for many months. Also it has a software assault whereby many precious files were deleted by a member of the family. Say no more. The computer was functioning ok for a few months after that(apart for the cmos thing)

ACTION SO FAR:
I have cleaned all the dust out of the guts inside; in case it was an over heating issue.

Then I decided to try a rescue disk to do a factory restore;

RESPONSE: The computer churns merrily away copying files onto the disk. Windows ME starts up and it goes into audit mode 1 where driver files for the soundcard, mouse and such are installed. Then it throws a tantrum and says Windows protection error. System halted you need to restart your computer. So I do and then we are back to waiting system start...software installation again...., then after the drivers are done it restarts, and then wants to preinstall them again and then it has another tantrum. I have tried to restore from scratch again with the floppy. We seem to be in a perpetual loop that is impossible to break free of.

I've had error messages along the way
One says "Could not find C:\FACTONLY\SOFTINST.INI or C:\FACTONLY\GENINST.EXE
Bad C:\Factonly\SOFTINST.SFT"

and "Unkown error