3com 3CRWDR100A-72 wireless router

Miss Happy 23:44 19 Jun 06

I am new to b/b and have a speedtouch 330 usb (+ their set-up software on laptop), modem supplied by NTLFreedom B/B via BT line.

I want to go wireless on laptop with IEEE 802.11.b/g, but desktop only has internal dial-up modem (I think!).

Is this 3com 3CRWDR100A-72 wireless router a good ADSL wireless option and is there a 108mbps version,please? I read woodchips answer to someone and he had the 3com model in 2005...is it still ok, woodchip?

ade.h 23:55 19 Jun 06

My neighbour is very happy with the 100A that I installed for him recently, but I was surprised at Woodchip's "£70" comment; he must have bought it a while ago because it's about £45 including a USB adapter (something that I would not normally recommend, but this example works quite satisfactorily) from Ebuyer. The link is on my other PC, so you'll have to search the Ebuyer site if you are interested. It is a quality router and is easily comparable to my usual choices, despite being cheaper. Typical 3Com, basically.

ade.h 23:56 19 Jun 06

Oh, and as usual; *do not* use the USB adpter software.

ade.h 00:00 20 Jun 06

With a bit of hunting.... click here

Also, if a PCMCIA card would be preferable.... click here, although that is out of stock for now.

Miss Happy 00:04 20 Jun 06

Thanks for your advice ade.h, woodchip bought his around a year ago, hence the price.

I use ebuyer quite often so will go and search there, thanks again ade.h.

Miss Happy 00:09 20 Jun 06

Thanks for link, looks good!

I will look at the pcmcia (is that for the desktop - sorry for being so dim, it's getting dark here and the lights are about to go out!), after I have tried the USB adapter, if it's ok i'll stick with it.

Miss Happy 00:16 20 Jun 06

Any idea what the:
click here

one is,it's slightly more expensive?

I am lost with b/b & networking/ wireless.

Thanks for your help.

Strawballs 00:22 20 Jun 06