2nd Pc cant c files or printer on main pc

belcanto 13:07 02 Jan 05

Hi there-I have two pcs, hoping to add a third later to my wireless home network. The main pc in bedroom runs win xp home edition, the second one in frontroom runs professional.

My problem is that although I have sucessfully set up ICS on both PCs, and set certain folders to share on the Bedroom pc, it is not showing up on 2nd pc. The network I have created comes up in My Network Places on first pc and I think the second. So how come I can't see the files and printer i have put as shared?

ACOLYTE 13:13 02 Jan 05

It may be and im not 100% that you need to run the wizard again on all 3 machines to enable everythink to work.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 14:27 02 Jan 05

maybe your firewall on the second PC is blocking access.

whybe 16:19 02 Jan 05

Although I am not an expert, my understanding is that by default only the specific 'shared documents' folder (in My Network Places) for each computer are available to be used across the network, files usually need to be copied to these to enable access via the other PC's. To share the printer make sure that the printer and printer PC is switched on, then from the remote PC go to the Printers and Faxes folder,click add printer, then follow the wizard for connecting a network printer. If you don't know the printer path, clicking next will bring you to an option box which should be headed up Microsoft Network, double click on this if your personal network name is not shown then double click on your network name eg Workgroup or MSHome.This should then identify the PC's on your network. Double click on the PC with the printer connected and then on the printer name which appears below. This will then start the install process for remote printing. Once set you should then get the option to use the remote printer whenever you use a print command.

howard60 16:24 02 Jan 05

you must only set ics on the main pc that connects to the net not on the other ones.