Playstation 3 250 Gb broken?

skeletal 19:44 03 Oct 09

We have just bought a slim-line 250Gb Playstation 3. It seems slow and jerky; in particular, on Fifa 2010 it is so bad that every second or two, the game totally freezes (sound and picture) for about a fifth of a second. It is unplayable.

As both this consol and game are so new, I guess that few people have any experience of them as yet; but any ideas anyone?

Skeletal

dagnammit 11:21 04 Oct 09

What firmware version?

....try resetting the console via Settings> System Settings and then restore.

My 120GB Slim came with 2.8 and I upped to 3.1 and it stuttered and froze on games etc

"Restore PS3 system" fixed it.

skeletal 19:38 04 Oct 09

Ah, that’s interesting!

When we turned it on, it automatically upgraded to V3.1; it would not allow internet access until the upgrade happened (I’m not a PS expert at all, I’m just trying to help my son).

Also, earlier today, I finally came a cross a web site that is all about Fifa. Apparently, the latest version is full of bugs and many people are reporting freezes and crashes, not exactly the same as ours though.

We have just got his favourite game going (COD) and that seems to be OK.

So, it’s 50/50 now.

I’ll suggest the reset idea, but we may hang on for a bit.

Thanks.

Skeletal

dagnammit 00:29 05 Oct 09

The restore doesn't move you back to 2.8. Your firmware will stay 3.1 until there's a new update. The reset just wipes everything.

If you leave it to later remember to stick a memory pen in and backup your game saves. Navigate to the save data and then hit triangle to copy.

skeletal 09:39 05 Oct 09

Oh, OK!

I must admit to being a dunce on all things PS! Until now, we have just used it to play games on...

My son said a friend of his tried the reset and “lost everything”. By the sound of it, it would have been, at least, the game saves as you say.