Wireless Headphones for Panasonic TV

Sapins 19:13 14 Nov 08

I would like to buy some wireless headphones to use with the TV. My hearing has suddenly deteriorated and I have to have the TV too loud for my wife to bear.

Can I control the volume completely with the headphones, for example, if my wife has the TV volume to her liking can I increase the volume on the headphones without affecting the setting for her? or does using the headphones cut the external volume of the TV? As you can guess I have never used these before and I know nothing about them.

Any help gratefully received, just watching the picture is not the same, mind you its a bonus with some programmes!

laurie53 19:55 14 Nov 08

I have two Panasonic TVs and on both of them you can, unusually, use both headphones and normal audio at the same time, i.e. connecting headphones does not mute the internal speakers.

If you have a set of earphones try it.

If you have this system then headphone volume is normally set independently, but only via the sound menu, not via the remote.

Your best bet is to get a set of headphones with an in-line volume control (Argos etc)

The alternative is to connect the tv's audio output, normally red/white plugs on the rear of the set, to a headphone amplifier.

Hope this is not too confusing; come back to me if you need clarification.

Sapins 20:03 14 Nov 08

Hi, Just what I need, I'll follow your advice and let you know how I get on, many thanks,

Regards,

Sapins.

DieSse 00:02 15 Nov 08

I have a set of Sony Wireless headphones. Very comfortable, volume control on the headset, really excellent sound, long range (listing to them now in the office whilst typing.) so you can (say) listen to radio via satellite in the garden, aerial built into headset band (so no awkward sticky-up or dangly-down antenna.

Most use rechargeable batteries. Get extra batteries and a good recharger - then you always have charged batteries available ready to go.