What software to build a slide show with captions?

1936 13:04 12 Feb 06

I have tried asking the following question on a number of Camera/Photographic forums with no success as they do not appear to read the question that I asked so I have come to this forum hoping for more luck.

I am new to this pastime, I am not interested in mucking about with photographs, if they are no good I dump them. All I want to do is create a slide show with titles and place it on a DVD so that I can watch it on a TV through a DVD player.

I have a computer a year or so old with a DVD burner Sony DVD RW DV D22A and am using Philips DVD+R discs.

I have the following software:
Canon which came with the Canon EOS 300d camera.
Olympus which came with the Olympus Camedia C – 370 Zoom camera.
Serif PhotoPlus 10
Serif AlbumPlus4
Adobe Photshop Elements.
Windows Movie Maker.
Nero 6 Reloaded.

I think that Serif does not create titles and I am not sure about Nero either. I then read that Windows Movie Maker does not support any DVD burning software. Could someone advise me if any of my software that I have can do what I want so that in order to avoid confusion I can dump the rest. My other question is, does my Hardwear and Philips disc look correct for the job.

I received the following eight suggestions from the camera forums but no one answered my question which is any of the software that I already have suitable for what I want to do or do I really have to buy additional software?

Pictureshow 2 although 4
Magix Photos
Pictures to EXE
Picasa2
Ulead Video Studio 9
ProShow Gold
Photodex, Pro Show Gold
Pinnacle Studio 9

Does anyone have experience of the software/Hardwear that I have already and if so could they tell me if any of it will do what I want?

jack 13:59 12 Feb 06

Been making slide shows- slide movies even with captions/music/commentery for yonks

My current favourite is DVDPixPlay from click here

45 day free version with a 50 slide limit
£15 buys the whole thing.