What phone after Samsung Note 2 ?

ric_coupe 20:34 21 Jan 16

Hi guys, a new poster here looking your words of advice please.

I’ve been using a Samsung Note 2 for the past 2 or 3 years now, and as I ended my existing contract recently, I rooted it and installed Resurrection Remix rom on it as there is no official Lollipop rom for this model. (LP_v5.4.2)

Whilst I’m generally happy with how it’s turned out, there are some minor issues such as error messages which pop up occasionally. However these can generally be dismissed and the phone will carry on working with no apparent ill effect.

As a result, I have been considering perhaps changing the phone, but my budget is quite limited.

The particular phones I’ve been researching are (in no particular order) Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Honor 7 Honor 5x Umi Iron Pro Ulefone Power Wileyfox Swift (or Storm), And a bit of a wild card, the Vodafone Smart Ultra 6. I’m keen to keep to my current screen size (5.5 inches), and as my Note 2 has 2GB ROM and 16GB of inbuilt storage, I wouldn’t really want to reduce these specs either.

What I’m hoping your experience and expertise can answer is, would I really see any benefit in moving to any of those phones from my Note 2 ? My phone is generally used for texting, browsing, and viewing videos. Some very occasional gaming, but generally, just typical casual smartphone user functions. Grateful for any advice. Many thanks.

RV510 21:14 21 Jan 16

I would stay with a Samsung, they are reliable. I would also stay away from anything bearing the Vodafone name, handset and provider, if you want to stay sane and not be confronted at any time with a non-customer support Company.

ric_coupe 08:34 22 Jan 16

Thanks for the reply RVS10. My budget doesn't really stretch to another flagship Samsung model which is why I was considering the cheaper Chinese models. Just wondering if I'd really notice any improvement in performance, etc ?

RV510 09:51 22 Jan 16