Sony DVD recorder probs

debege 00:27 20 Oct 07

Hi folks,
Newbie here.....frustrated, bemused, gob-smacked type of newbie to boot!....please be patiaet with me while I explain.

My wife and I have a Sony HDR-HC3 camcorder (to record all our special moments in glorious Hi Def), a Pioneer HD TV (to play those moments back in glorious hi def), and until a blu-ray recorder comes along, I am archiving my footage onto std. def DVD....or was, until my old faithful Philips recorder finally gave up the ghost.

So...a new recorder was needed...I did my research,and decided to buy a Sony RDR-HXD model... and seem to have spent the next half of my life trying to get the damned thing to record my footage!

In the end, I gave up and contacted the help desk at Sony...BIG mistake! The chap there told me that it is not possible to record footage from a HD camcorder onto Std def DVD.

No amount of explaining on my part that the users manual for the HC3 clearly states that you CAN do this, that the cam converts the output to ordinary DV when required (just for this purpose), and that in fact I HAD been doing just that for the past 12 months, would convince him otherwise!

SO...my question at last....does anybody know why my new Sony will NOT record from my cam, despite my setting the outputs on the cam correctly...or at least, as the book advises, and how it worked on the Philips?

The footage from the cam is displayed on the TV screen when I press play, but the recorder pops up with "device not connected", or words to that effect...bizarre, considering it is displaying the output from that device, but it utterly refuses to record it!

Please help, kind people with brains....age and living it up in the 60`s has rendered mine as inoperable as the Sony recorder!

Cheers.

M E 00:44 21 Oct 07

1: How are you connecting the Sony HDR-HC3 camcorder to the Sony RDR-HXD, i.e. Cable.

2: Which model Number Sony RDR-HXD ???

debege 11:53 21 Oct 07

Hi M E,