recording onto DVD from Sky+

SimoneT 12:32 22 Feb 08

Sorry if this has been on before but couldn't find anything in my quick search.

I have bought a second hand DVD recorder (Panasonic) from someone in work to enable me to record from my Sky+ box, however I have no idea how to do this. The Sky+ box has 2 scart connections, both of which in our case are already taken up, so not sure how else to connect this DVD recorder. I am also unsure if I need to watch what I have saved on my Sky+ box in order to record it or if there is a way of recording without having to actually watch the programme. As you can see I am a novice when it comes to using DVD recorders, so any help and tips are more than welcome!

anskyber 14:19 22 Feb 08

You will need to connect the recorder via scart, usually one scart is marked to TV the other to a recorder. Generally if the scart to the recorder is used the signal to the TV can be taken from the recorder thereby freeing up a scart from the Sky box.

Otherwise turn on the recorder and make sure it is set to receive from the AV input you have chosen on it. Go to the Sky planner from tv guide, highlight the recorded program you wish to cvopy and press the red key (copy) then press select.

Press record on your recorder and play on the sky box. Do nothing until the copy is complete, you cannot view anything else during copy. You do not need to watch the recording before you copy it.

anskyber 14:28 22 Feb 08

This is the connection for my box, it's an HD box but the priciple is the same. click here

SimoneT 15:33 22 Feb 08

Thanks guys, one more question though. We already have a cinema system installed as our main dvd player and sound system, will that cause any problems with the connections anskyber has posted? Sorry, probably a dum question, but I did say that this is new to me!

anskyber 15:49 22 Feb 08

It's almost impossible to say without knowing how the existing system is connected and the number of scarts available.