Problem with Digital Camcorder

Sheila_p 19:21 15 Nov 05

Hi,

I wonder if anyone could offer me some advice please?

A few monts ago I bought a JVC GR-DF470EK digital camcorder with built in camera.

I'm very new to using a camcorder and have used it for only about two hours, including looking through the menus, setting the date and time etc.

Recently, I took it to a christening and found that it would only record sound. The LCD display and the viewfinder were both black even though the lens cap had been removed. The situation remains the same whether I'm in video or camera mode.

I feel sure it's something silly that I've done, maybe selecting a menu choice by accident.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Sheila :)

Pamy 23:10 15 Nov 05

shiela_p, I know this may not be the answer that you are looking for, and may have already done so, but short of going back to the shop you bought it from and getting that nice young man behind the counter to show you, have you read the manual?

Pamy

Sheila_p 07:59 16 Nov 05

Response from Pamy:

shiela_p, I know this may not be the answer that you are looking for, and may have already done so, but short of going back to the shop you bought it from and getting that nice young man behind the counter to show you, have you read the manual?

Yes, hence my posting.

anchor 10:11 16 Nov 05
  Sheila_p 16:19 16 Nov 05

Hi Anchor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to look up the number and email address of JVC for me. I'll contact them a bit later. I haven't taken it back to the shop, that's quite a treck, so I'll only do that as a last resort.

I posted in case I'd done something unwittingly in the menu system, which other people may have done in the past, before I resorted to contacting them.

Thanks again.

wee eddie 17:31 16 Nov 05

They go through them pretty quickly. You Know!

lindyloo4 21:40 16 Nov 05