mini DV to DVD video loss of quality

eddiejackr 20:03 23 Oct 06

I am transferring from mini DV tapes in my Panasonic video camera, via firewire to my PC. Then editing and burning to DVD. I have used Nero and Ulead software. In both cases there is a loss of quality when compared to playing the original tapes via the camera onto the tv. Nero seems better. With Ulead the loss of quality is too great to tolerate - facial features were sometimes blurred.

How can I avoid this loss of quality? The quality of the original tapes was very good. Is it to do with my PC RAM or graphics card?

I am just a beginner to this so please keep replies at Janet and John level! Thanks for any help anyone can give.

De Marcus™ 20:23 23 Oct 06

How many hours/mins of footage are you putting onto one disk?

eddiejackr 21:04 23 Oct 06

between half hour up to 2 hours. With the worst quality transfers using Ulead it was 1hour 20 mins. I edited down to this length as I couldn't find a "burn to fit" function in Ulead.

De Marcus™ 21:28 23 Oct 06

I'll have to stick with advising on Nero as I know little of the Ulead software.

If your getting blockiness with half hour videos then the problem is highly unlikely to be Nero's smart encoding which by default is set to automatic under video options. One possible cause is that under those same video options should be a transcoding setting which is basically the quality the disk will be encoded at, High quality, Standard Play, long play, etc, etc. Check those settings and report back, in fact report back with all the settings you have currently under the transcode heading in Nero, if you need guidance on how to do this post back.

eddiejackr 10:05 25 Oct 06

Hello. I can't tell settings as I was working with trial downloads in order to decide which to buy and they have expired. I think in Nero I was using a "Fit to disc" option. In Ulead I couldn't find this option so I edited my footage down to the max it would allow.