//some 3rd party need geo

Digital Photo Editing

AJ25 15:39 16 Dec 05

I am a complete novice in Digital Photography. I have the Canon EOS 300D nad have been merrily snaping away without ever being really pleased with the results. Before I buy a better lens, I want to get the hang of editing the pictures.

Bearing these points in mind, what is the best software package for me. I have the standard one that come with the camera. MS say their Digital Image Suite is perfect for me at around £50

Please advise

Belatucadrus 16:47 16 Dec 05

click here

For a variety of comprehensive tools, free to the non profit home user.

exdragon 18:45 16 Dec 05

Have a look at reviews for Photoshop Elements, it has most of the tools included in Photoshop CS, but at around £60. Brilliant for beginners, very user friendly and will give you a good grounding should you in the future decide to go the whole hog and invest in CS

phil 19:47 16 Dec 05

You buy a £700 camera and you don't know how to use it?

Now you're going to buy a new lens probably costing another couple of hundred pounds!

Get yourself onto a photography course at college before you do that and save yourself the cost of that lens.

Sorry about the terse reply but it just makes me wonder if you'd be able to cope with digital software if you can't even cope with an advanced camera.

ROYSTERO 19:47 16 Dec 05

Go to Google and download "Picasa" which I believe is their own Photo Editor.It's free and simple to use.Excellent results.Wait until you are more proficient, then buy.

exdragon 21:39 16 Dec 05

Don't be put off by Phil's reply - last year I bought a Nikon D70 as my first ever SLR, having only used a compact on and off over the years.

Best thing about digital is that you can practice until you get it right: I used to sit with a magazine in one hand, taking umpteen pictures of 3 spice jars until I could get depth of field in to my head.... I have improved since then, I hasten to add!

phil 23:31 16 Dec 05

exmpdragon