Choosing a new bridge-style camera

Rodders 21:12 01 Jan 10

Hi

I've been using my excellent Fuji Finepix 2800Z for over 6 years but sadly it's nearing the end of its life - the battery cover is hanging off, the Smart Media cards aren't reading properly and corrupt images, the lens cover is broken and the strap eyelet on one side fell off.

So it's soon time to replace it.

I'd like an SLR (I think) because I enjoy taking photos. But, they tend to be too pricey and I also fear that I'll not have the time to learn how to get the best out of it.

So I think I want to go for another bridge style camera.

I want:
- a good zoom because I want to start taking photos when I go bird spotting.

- something that can be used as a point and click indoors and outdoors. i.e. it is quite quick to turn on and get a shot taken.

- some manual control so that I can try and improve my camera skills. Adjusting the light settings might be useful.

- it must use a widely available memory card format. The Fuji used Smart Media which seems to be long forgotten.

- video recording. If I can get reasonable quality movies from the camera then that would be an added bonus.

Budget-wise I'm not sure. Probably sub £150.
There's a deal on ebay for a refurbished Kodak Z1012 with bag and 4GB card for £125 which really appeals. However, I read some reviews and the picture quality isn't amazing and the lens is apparently not that great. But I suppose I have to accept some negatives in that price range.

I think the Kodak allows other lenses to be used which is a nice bonus.

I'd opt for another Fuji but can't work out which of the many models fits my requirements best.

So, I'm looking for suggestions and guidance.

Has anybody got hands-on experience of this Kodak, a Fuji in this price range, or something completely different like the Lumix or Olympus models.

Thanks
Rich

skidzy 13:28 02 Jan 10