Burning a dvd woes,

wolfie3000 06:21 13 Feb 07

Well this is a subject i know nothing about at all,

Im a total noob at it lol.

Ok here goes,
I have an avi file of a trip to farleigh hungerford castle (the avi file is around 670MB) i want to put on a dvd so it will play on a stand alone player (my mates dvd player in his living room)

I have Ulead video studio 10, DVD shrink and DVD flick.

Iv tryed without success to burn this video onto a dvd with Ulead video studio 10 and later on today am going to try to burn it onto a dvd with dvd flick,

The dvd disc i will be using is a Sony DVD+RW

So how do i do it????

Iv made 4 coasters out of the other DVD+RW discs and its getting expensive. (£15.99 for 5)

Im onto my last disc and i dont wanna screw it up.

Please tell me how to do this as im near to going postal on my pc,

The simpler the better please.

bennyhillslovechild 07:31 13 Feb 07

DVD flick should convert the avi file into the .vob files (aka mpeg2, I think) needed to play on a standalone DVD player.

Small guide: click here

Also....Obviously using dvd+/-r would have been cheaper, but as you have used rewritables, can you not format them to use again? (unless you REALLY like shiny coasters?) :)

wolfie3000 07:40 13 Feb 07

Tryed to format the coasters but pc throws a fit when i put them into the drive just,

TY for the guide, just hope it works.

its getting embarrasing now, not being able to make a dvd that will play on a stand alone dvd player,

Its soooo fustrating especially when i know teenagers that can do it.

Haol 09:30 13 Feb 07

Alright wolfie?

To convert the AVI to DVD I would use ConvertXtoDVD. It works great and the quality it gives is amazing. Only problem is is that it's shareware.

click here

wolfie3000 11:39 13 Feb 07

ok i now have 5 coasters now :(

I f0llowed the instructions to DVD Flick and got the same result as with the other dvd burning tools,