//some 3rd party need geo

Your suggestions please

piggy 22:06 06 Aug 03

I would like to put my farm accounts on the computer, and have been looking at the various software available, I'm a one man farmer , registered for vat and have the usual purchasing and expenditure , preferably some thing reasonably simple. Your imput would be welcome.
Thanks, Piggy

spuds 22:27 06 Aug 03

Sage and Quickens are two of the better known programmes. Quickens can usually be obtained at a fairly low prices for a older but still fully practical programmes. click here may have some available. As you are in the farming industry, why not contact your local NFU branch, perhaps they have some good suggestions of possible good software at discounted prices.Even speak to your animal feed supplier, who may offer direction and help on this matter.

Not to sure now, but I think Sage and Quickens both have websites that offer trial downloads.

Djohn 22:34 06 Aug 03

If you have Microsoft Excel on your PC, then this will be ideal for your needs. The formula to make your accounts can be a little difficult if you have never used before. But once you have made a program, then protected it, it's as easy as just putting your income/expenses into the cells.

I use this to look after the accounts for a small social fund I run. As you enter the figures then the "Balance" and "Total" cells will increase/decrease as you go along, also takes care of all your banking withdrawals and deposits.

May be someone with knowledge of this program will offer to help in setting out, if they know exactly what fields you require. j.

bfoc 23:41 06 Aug 03

If so it would be best to check with them that whatever path you go down is acceptable to them. I have known of people who switched to computerised accounts and then found their accountant didn't accept them. They then had to either switch accountants or redo most of a year's accounts!