Who should help or take the blame?

Diemmess 09:53 29 Feb 08

Have had consistant connection speeds with Aol from way back in my first dial-up days.
Current service is 2MB about 1880Kb usually.

Last 3 days between say 16:00 and 21:00 the download speed has fallen sharply as low as 72kb and many pages simply do not display.

On line using IE7, things open and shut much faster, but I'm a total beginner using that route and why should I.

I live in the sticks with a tiny BT sub exchange not far away, but this problem is new even though I expect a small drop in in speed at peak times.

Any ideas about whose help to chase?

Aol have sunk to preaching from a limited catechism and dumping me after first suggestion.

BT which number? and won't they suggest becoming their subscriber first?

Me? MTU might be an OK word here but I need very simple directions, most of what I have read is Geek-speak to me

crosstrainer 12:12 29 Feb 08

MTU Setting: MTU (Maximum Transfer Unit) defines the largest data packet size you can transmit in one go across a network. The AOL network runs at an MTU of 1450. Many routers have inbuilt auto-configurations where the hardware identifies that the AOL traffic has an MTU of 1450 and dynamically adjusts. Alternatively you may have to manually change the MTU setting on the modem router.

If the router hardware does not have this facility, the MTU setting can manually be changed on the computer to 1450.

You can change the MTU setting on your computer by using DrTCP. This is a free software utility that is a shortcut to editing your registry. This is available at: click here.

MRU Setting: MRU (Maximum Routing Unit) is required by some modem routers and should be set to the same value as the MTU of 1450.

MSS Setting: MSS (Maximum Segment Size) is required by some modem routers and dynamically adjusts the packet size to fit the MTU. It should be set to 1410.