Which should I buy?

naomonster 22:47 19 Aug 09

I'm a student who needs a new laptop capable of 3d modelling.
I've priced 3 laptops that I'm interested in and am completely clueless as to which to buy.
Which should I choose?

1) Sony VGN-NW11SS £749.99
Intel Core 2 Duo processor T6500
(2.1Ghz, 800Mhz, 2MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista (R) Home Premium
4GB Memory
320GB Hard drive
Up to 2 hours battery life
Webcam
ATI Radeon 512mb graphics
Bluetooth connectivity
HDMI connectivity

2) Acer 5536-744G £499.99
AMD Turion processor RM-74
(2.2Ghz, 1MB Cache)
4GB Memory
500GB Hard drive
Up to 3 hours battery life
Webcam
Dolby Home Theatre

3) Compaq Presario CQ60-430SA £429.99
AMD Turion processor RM72
(2.1Ghz, 1MB Cache)
4GB Memory
250GB Hard drive
Up to 2 hours battery life
Nvidia GeForce 1GB graphics
HDMI connectivity

OTT_Buzzard 23:43 19 Aug 09

For 3D modelling, you are going to need to know a lot more about the graphics card specifications.

Other than that, on any of them, a 64bit operating system will give a slight performance boost, if the rest of your software is compatible.

What software are you using for modelling? And how big are the files you intend to model?

naomonster 00:11 20 Aug 09

The software programmes I'll be using are 3dsmax and SketchUp. But I won't be using them on a day-to-day basis.
Mostly I'll be using AutoCAD and the Adobe Creative Suite.
Filesize is usually moderate enough I think.

Bit clueless about this stuff, what would be a 64bit OS?

The Sony has an ATI Mobility Radeon HD4570 GPU
Not sure about the Acer.. think it was another ATI
The Compaq has an NVIDIA GEFORCE 8200M

OTT_Buzzard 01:06 20 Aug 09

Using the software that you are you're not going to get blindng performance from any laptop costing less than double your most expensive option :(

However, out of those options, the grpahics card and processor combination fron the Sony give it a competitive edge over the other two.