Which Camera

It's Me 20:02 14 Mar 05

I've been a keen photographer since my teenage, and use an Olympus SLR Om2 film camera. I say use, but I recently have found the use of film to be a hassle, and the results not too good, which could be due to many factors. My wife has a camcorder which can, and does take stills that are saved to a memory stick which have done for a while, although it is useless for one of my interests, that of taking church interiors in available light! Having now seen the results of printing off some shots taken by a half decent digital camera by someone else I now know how bad our photos are in print quality.

So the time has come to perhaps invest. We need a camera that will be controllable enough to satisfy me, in churches and landscapes, and which can be point and shoot otherwise she who must be obeyed won't touch it! A modest telephoto with a wide angle (28mm)and a decent lens speed and quality. Also it must be easy to carry, ie. not an SLR or one that tries to look like one if possible.
Price, anything although the price of the SLRs is too much for me to want to pay.

Happy Soul 23:52 14 Mar 05

click here for all the info you'll need.

Starfox 23:59 14 Mar 05

Or how about click here

click here

anchor 10:03 15 Mar 05

I suggest the Canon S70, 7.1 Mpixel.

click here

This will give you all you need, and the larger image will enable you to crop and still retain quality.

£327 at Cameras2U (Jessops may price match).

click here

It's Me 16:08 15 Mar 05

The S70 looks v. interesting.

Any comment on the Olympus C5060 which I've just been reading about?

anchor 17:10 15 Mar 05

The Olympus sounds a very good camera:

click here

Having looked carefully at the identical sample pictures of both, I can see a difference in the fine detail resolved. The extra pixels certainly give the Canon the edge.