What broadband service ?

ZootHornRollo 08:57 29 Sep 03

As well as buying a new PC next month I want to move to Broadband. I have no experience of it and am currently on BT 's Openworld Dial up service. BT Broadband doesn't include email I belive so which provider should I go for?

-pops- 09:11 29 Sep 03

Well, you could go for BT Yahoo broadband (used to be BT Openworld broadband).

The GnoMe 09:16 29 Sep 03
  Flak999 14:51 29 Sep 03

I have just moved to broadband and am using Freeserve the service has performed faultlessly and i am very happy no dropped connections and very fast speeds!

Dipso 23:08 03 Oct 03

My advice is to do some research first.click here= also click here= for some of the things to consider before making your decision. I have had 2 suppliers to date. I chose the first because they had a 1 month contract so if I found I didn't want to stay with them I could just cancel. Some suppliers tie you in to a 12 month contract, so beware! I also got free connection the first time around and a discounted USB modem. Something else to consider - how do you wish to connect, USB modem, PCI or a router. I am now with click here who offer a Pay As You Go service. Whilst with my first provider I monitored my usage click here and worked out that I could save myself at least £10 a month by switching provider. Hope this helps.

Tim1964 00:04 04 Oct 03

Another route may be via cable BUT, as an NTL 'victim' I could not recommend them as I have been having diabolical browsing speeds/lockups and hanging blank pages for days now and cannot get an answer on the phone (gave up after 30mins on hold!)

Although the speeds are fine if you only want to go online after 11pm or before 8am.

Forum Editor 08:11 04 Oct 03

is the same as -pops-, stay with BT and go for the BT Yahoo ADSL broadband service. It's the same service that recently changed its name from BT OpenWorld broadband, and it's the longest-running broadband service of all.