Voice software - best one?

MrShane 22:48 02 Dec 03

Hi there, I bought a copy of IBM's Via Voice (Standard, Millenium Edition) a couple of years ago. I used it for a while but found that there were quite a few errors - not sure whether I just didn't do enough training-in of the software.

I am a journalist and am hoping to use the product to make transcripts of long interviews. If I listen to the interview and dictate in my own voice, it should make the whole process much faster than typing (well, that is the hope!)

What I was wondering is if there is a better voice recognition package out there, or should I just stick with what I have and keep training it in? I am conscious that it is a couple of years old and so, theoretically, the standard has moved on.

Would appreciate any feedback!

Thanks, Shane

MrShane 12:11 03 Dec 03

GibsonSt19 12:22 03 Dec 03

I can wholly recommend Dragon Dictate, Naturally Speaking v7 Preferred.

Awesome recognition with very little training, and training improved it further.

click here for a few reviews.

keenan 12:24 03 Dec 03

From what seems to be said click here
'Dragon NaturallySpeaking Professional', I do use 'IBM's Via Voice ' but not with any regularity to give you an infomed opinion.Hope the link is helful.

Hyperangelic 12:30 03 Dec 03

I used to have DragonDictate Naturally Speaking and found it good. It seems to work well after only a short amount of training-up.

MrShane 17:51 03 Dec 03

Thanks guys....seems that Dragon is the way to go. Do you know if it is necessary to shell out for the pro version if I intend just using it in Word? I looked at the manufacturers website and the basic functions seem the same for each version, even the cheapest Elements one. The impression I got from the website is that they actual voice recognition is the same on each, the more expensive ones just offer more functions esp. with other programs.

I'd appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks again,

kinger 17:58 03 Dec 03