Viruscan/Firewall expiry date change stops update

pejj 09:35 14 Sep 03

On Oct 6 2002 I bought packaged McAfee Viruscan and Firewall.

I have no other virus protection or similar programs installed ot running. I use the PC Adviso version of Netscape 6.2, Onetel ISP and Pegasus 4.12a email.

Last week (Sept03)I started getting prompts to update the software, and could not update the Virus
definition files. The help screens say my Viruscan expired on 6Sept03 but that Firewall will expire on 26Oct03, both incorrect. McAfee have sent me a complex fix for this problem (too long to include, but I can mail it to anyone interested), involving a complete uninstallation of ALL McAfee software, then removal of 'file remnants' by edit of the registry (which I have never done before and so find a scary prospect) to find and remove a list of about 20 keywords, update of IE6 to include sp1 (though I dont use and have not installed IE6, I have IE5.5) but no explanation of why this happened, plus instructions to install 'the new version', though they haven't told me what they mean by this.

The only explanation that I can offer is that I know that about 6 weeks ago I accidentally changed the date on my computer while looking at the calender, but corrected this a few days later. Surely this cant be the cause of the problem?!? If it is, then this is a most serious security problem.

The help McAfee sent contained a number of irrelevant requirements suggesting that it had been cut and pasted from a manual, so I guess this is not a unique situation. I would be interested in any comments on why it happened, and any suggestions on how to fix this and prevent it from happening again.

Pejj

Jester2K II 09:46 14 Sep 03

"I accidentally changed the date on my computer while looking at the calender, but corrected this a few days later. Surely this cant be the cause of the problem?!? If it is, then this is a most serious security problem."