Virgin Media - customer value

Jarvo 22:45 29 Jun 09

Is it just me or are all Virgin media customers getting a raw deal on broad band?
After having a slow cable connection for the last two weeks I phoned Virgin and received excellent service a new modem was dispatched within 48 hrs and my speed back to 10mb. But here lies my problem that has totally dumfounded me, looking at the Virgin website for the faults number I noticed that 10mb was now £10 per month and 20mb now £20 per month, I have been paying £24 per month for many years! Maybe I have missed a speed upgrade I thought so I rang Virgin and to my surprise I was told that no I am paying the correct amount as an existing customer and could not have the same package as a new customer. I explained that I was not asking for the 3 months half price that a new customer would get but just to pay the same amount per month as the new customer would pay for duration of contract for either service, “sorry we cant help that’s only for new customers” I was told by both a service advisor and supervisor. As I explained to no avail that I have had Comcast / NTL / Virgin telephone, TV and internet for 15 years plus and as a loyal customer I feel highly aggrieved that I can not have the same cost of service as any other customer. Can you imagine going into Tesco’s “do you have a loyalty card sir” “yes” “well that will be twice the price on the advert then” we would all walk out (but seen as Virgin have a monopoly on cable not as easy to do). I plan to write to the chief executive and try and have this crazy policy reversed but first have any of the form user’s come across this and how do you feel.

Jarvo

Kevscar1 23:42 29 Jun 09

cancel and Switch if you are not happy

dagnammit 23:51 29 Jun 09

Call and say you're leaving... this is the first time I've heard about Virgin refusing to match new customer packages. Especially as it's only £4... (I mean to them) £4 is hardly worth losing a customer over.