Software Price Variations - Blatent Descrimination

Otto von Luvpuppy 17:15 06 Mar 05

I have a very simple question.

Why am I discriminated against when buying software because I live in the UK?

I'm a IT and Design professional. I don't use pirated software, I always pay for the genuine article. I do this because, quite simply, if someone has invested time and effort in developing software that I can use to make money from why shouldn't they be paid for it.

However I'm losing my patience fast.

I use Corel Draw extensively and have been a loyal user from their very first beta version.
I would like to upgrade my version of the software from 10 to 12. I'm happy to download it and I don't need the manuals. Pretty easy customer I would say.
Now take a look at the prices. On the US site, you will find that the download 'upgrade'
will cost you $124 (£64.48), reasonable price I would say.
But I can't buy it from there as I don't have a US address.
I have to buy it from the UK site, - at an outrageous £231.88 + VAT.
The same software, probably downloaded from the same server costing nearly
4 times the amount
it does in the US. Last time I looked I did not earn 4 times the amount of the average US citizen or pay a quarter of the tax they pay - so why should I pay 4 times the amount for my software.

Why? Why? Why?

When you are faced with this sort of blatant discrimination it's no wonder software piracy goes on.

Anybody have a answers to this?
I'd love to hear them.

€dstowe 17:51 06 Mar 05

Why not ask Corel?

Corel UK
Sapphire Court
Bell Street

0800 376 9271

Otto von Luvpuppy 17:58 06 Mar 05

I already did!
Their excuse is 'market forces'.
Go figure.

douglas1973 18:35 06 Mar 05