Software for manipulating digital photos

Ben Chuud 23:42 21 Jun 03

What's the best software for manipulating digital photos.. Camera came bundled with one, seems pretty basic and restricted...

Any freeware or paid ware that can improve and allow tinkering etc

jazzypop 00:03 22 Jun 03

How much do you want to spend, and how far do you want to manipulate?

Irfanview is cheap (free) and good. Paint Shop Pro is cheapish (about £60?) and very good. Many people swear by Adobe PhotoShop (£200+)

Google will find them all for you. There are also many trial / demo packages in the Downloads link at the top of this page.

Ben Chuud 04:49 22 Jun 03

Thanks, might try Pain Shop Pro

-pops- 09:09 22 Jun 03

You may find as you get more into this that one single program doesn't do all you want it to.

I'm a PaintShop Pro user but I also use Irfanview click here , Ofoto Now click here which is excellent for removing red eye and other things and some other programs. These should keep you going for a long time though.

Pay out for PSP and get Irfanview and Ofoto for free.

Brian

Bebee 09:21 22 Jun 03

There's no one answer to this - it depends on how you want to use them. It's worth trying the freebies to see if they meet your needs.

Paintshop Pro is popular for photographs, and alot of the digital photo sites give tutorials/articles on using it.

Photoshop is probably considered the top end program with professionals (and so it should be at around £400), but Photoshop Elements is the consumer version (£50 - £70). Again, plenty of turorials around on photo sites. You can download a 30 day trial of the full version of Photoshop Elements at the Adobe site. I'm down to 8 days and have decided to buy it - at around £52 from click here . (You can get a trial of the expensive version aswell.)

Stuartli 09:55 22 Jun 03

I have several of these programs - all are pretty much the same in the way in which they work.