The Scourge of our society?

originalmiscellany 20:28 26 Apr 05

As a teacher, I've come across a trend with kids of recording on their 3G phones other people being slapped out of the blue - in fact a few of my sixth form kids showed me with relish these really unsavoury videos and they found it really funny.

click here

is an article explaining what I'm referring to.

I myself have never seen or expereinced such activities but as this is a case of ICT being badly used, I was wanting comments from people who have heard about this as I'd like to gauge how common this is.

Cheers

Totally-braindead 20:54 26 Apr 05

I've never seen this particular type of recording but I have seen some really sick ones of a cat getting its head chopped off in a sunroof and some others of the same sort of thing, but you could tell they weren't real, if that can be said to make a difference. The persons who had these were adults however and personally I thought they were a bit sick. The ones you're on about are worse in that, from what you describe they appear to be real or perhaps are real.

Giantsquid 23:26 26 Apr 05

Kids today....is it any wonder, what a country this has become, and I would not be a Teacher for a million quid a year.
You have my upmost respect and good luck, because you need it these days.

GS

New Neophyte 01:22 27 Apr 05

My daughter tells me she wants to be a teacher. As a responsible parent, it is up to me to ensure that she seeks a job where she is reasonably remunerated and most of all given a measure of respect. Which excludes teaching in the public sector. Obviously.

God bless you Miscellany, and a big shout out to B Liar for his efforts in improving education in this country. Ha ha.

NN

Aspman 14:00 27 Apr 05

I did read a story about a chap getting a serious kicking for a few blokes while another laughed and recorded it on a video phone.

He'd never seen them before they just seemed to do it for the video.

Most disturbing.