Samsung warranty not honoured due to cut off date.

I recently bought a Samsung R60+ from Tesco due to the reviews that the system has received, the sale price (£499 - £399) and the offer of a three year warranty. However please be warned that Samsung will not honour the three year warranty after 31.01.08. If you buy this system after 31st January, as I did, you will have to buy an extended warranty from Tesco, which makes the sale price £75 more expensive than the original cost. This is despite the three year warrant still being advertised on the laptop box with no mention of a cut off date. I know that I probably have legal rights but I do not have the time or the inclination to pursue these.

I am sure that £399 is still a good price for the system, however on a point of principle I am going to return the laptop and buy one from a different manufacturer. The funny thing is that I am studying for my PhD examining customer relationship marketing, Samsung have definitely lost a customer for life due to their inability to honour their marketing claims. They say that 10 years ago a dissatisfied customer would tell six people, today it is 6,000 how true that is.

oresome 13:17 12 Feb 08

You will have no trouble returning the laptop to Tesco and getting a refund, but that's not really the point is it.

Tesco need to be made aware of the problem and the packaging / advertising material altered.

I wonder if Tesco sold this item before it was in the sale. I suspect many retailers get items in specially for the sale that are end of line etc which is why Samsung are not willing to provide the extended warranty.

Hi
In answer to your totally relevant points.

Tesco have been selling this item for a few months. I guess the reason for the sale price is that, as with all of these types of products, it will be outdated shortly.