Recording equipment - bit off subject

jimmylove 20:02 04 Jan 05

Sorry if this is not the right place, but I just don't know where else to ask and figured someone here might just be able to help me out.
I'm a concert pianist and have some quite important (to me) recitals coming up. I'd like to have them recorded but don't want any fancy equipment/laptops etc. Just a small mic and someting to plug it into. Would mini disc be my best bet or is there something else on the market that would do. Budget up to £500 or so and I'd like the finished recoding to end up on CD. So any ideas??
TIA,
James

Totally-braindead 20:18 04 Jan 05

I don't know enough about the subject to give you a definate answer though I'm sure someone else will, the only thing I can do is list options I can think of. Record it onto standard audio tape then convert it on your computer into digital and burn to cd, minidisk may be an option but I've never had one or perhaps MP3. I'm sure there must be a MP3 player with built in audio recording that is good quality ie it uses an external mike. I've got a little dinky solid state 256mb MP3 and it costs £45 and records voice with a built in mike but obviously the quality must be far too poor for what you want. Anyone out there know of a good MP3 that can do what jimmylove wants? I'm thinking of the hard drive mp3 players.

wee eddie 20:26 04 Jan 05

I think that you should consider the Band Width you want the Master Copy to be.

Most small towns have a Local Recording Studio, usually in an unused factory lot. They are almost always short of business and would have all the recording equipment available.

Another possibility is to enquire at your local Radio Station. They might do a deal for the right to broadcast at some later date or you they might know what or who to hire.

Setting up a recording can be fraught with potential glitches (as I know to my chagrin)and having a professional doing it might reduce the chances of catastrophe.