Recommendations for suppliers for self build PC

Daz35 21:41 17 Mar 05

I've decided to have a go at building a PC.

It's my first attempt and the main considerations will be price and service from suppliers.

I know there are lots of self builders on here, so could you recommend suppliers that you have used and were pleased with.

Many thanks

ade.h 22:41 17 Mar 05

I've had good experiences with and (distinct from the similarly named

Lots of people will tell you to steer clear of a particular retailer because they had a bad experience, but I don't really think that there are very many truly awful retailers out there. Plenty of average ones, of course, and some very good ones.

t.long 23:29 17 Mar 05

Most people seem to agree that Novatech are great if - and they mostly do not - go wrong.

Persoanly I have dealt with Novatech, Aria, Overclockers, Ebuyer and Komplett. The only real problem I have has was with Ebuyer and a dodgey RAM and Motherboard combo. But a little patience and a few emails and it was sorted out okay. Komplett were a little slow on the delivery time. I have only used them once so I do not know if this is typical but it took about a week, several days of which was waiting for dispatch. But maybe they had stock issues that were just not reflected in the website.

Some advice, think about what you want to do with your computer, and what sort of hardware you will need. Look at various reviews and make your mind up based on what you are realisticly going to use it for. Theres no point building an Uber 'gaming rig' if you only want to surf the net! Likewise if you want to game its going to cost you.

Perhaps the most important question is Intel or AMD, you will never get a definitive answear on this one. But for office type work the HT equipped P4s are probably your best bet, for games the Anthlon 64 is streets ahead. If its just to surf the net and do the odd bit of word processing you might be better off with a Celeron or Sempron.