Recommendations for Photo Software

bear73 14:12 26 May 04

Hi, I need to buy some software for editing and storing my digital photos and was hoping for some recommendations. I am a bit of a novice and only need to store, do general touch-ups to photos (alter brightness, crop etc) and print.

I have downloaded Adobe Photoshop 2.0 Starter Edition and it is rather basic. It has nothing to alter brightness or contrast manually, just auto fix buttons. There is also no area to alter the size of the print to reduce it's file storage size.

Can I also ask a question about loading and storing photos? When I load my photos on to my pc direct from my camera they are generally 966KB -1,161KB which is fairly big isn't it? How do I shrink them down without altering the quality of the print. I'm not great at understanding pixels etc. I used to use an application where you could click on image size and just click 6 x 4 inches and it would automatically alter the size of the file and the pixels. Problem is they never print that well when I do that. I thought it was my printer but I have just printed a photo without altering the size at all and it was great quality but a huge file size.

Sorry for the long winded mail, I'm just trying to get some nice photos of my daughter.

Any help appreciated.

€dstowe 14:29 26 May 04

Paint Shop Pro is almost as comprehensive as the full version of Photoshop and some of my artists here use it in preference. Best thing is that it is very, very much cheaper.

click here

bear73 14:38 26 May 04

Thanks for your reply. I've had a look at the link you posted and it looks good. Do you know what the difference is between the Paint Shop Pro And the Paint Shop Album?

They both look good and wondered if there was any huge difference.

€dstowe 14:49 26 May 04

Several hundred pounds!!! PSP is about £75, Photoshop £500.

I think you can get older versions of PSP quite cheaply if you search around.