Recommendations for a new computer...

Pipperpa 16:27 28 Nov 10

I presently have a Dell XPS M1530 Laptop that is just over 2 years old. It has its glitches but all in all it has been a good work horse for my purposes. Currently I am having trouble with it stalling a lot and taking up to an hour to turn on as I have to manually turn it off and restore it several times before it will finally get to my password screen. It has windows vista, Intel Core 2 duo processor (2.2GHZ) and 3gb of ram. Up until I have made the most of it. It was a brilliant computer when I bought it but now I am wondering if it would make sense to get a desktop for my purposes. Otherwise anyone got an idea as to why it stalls on start up?

I am an Architectural Student going in to my year out next year and uses labour intensive programmes such as AutoCAD, ArchiCAD and Photoshop. I also do the normal things such as photos and email (currently all my photos and music are stored on an external hard drive in an attempt to speed up my machine).

I am looking for a laptop or desktop that has around about these specs. Hopefully not to expensive but I realise that it is probably going to be quite steep! The specs have been decided by looking at the most recent specs of all the high programmes that I use. I currently have only Photoshop CS4 and AutoCAD Architecture 2010 on my laptop. They work alright when used solely and on the power lead.

Screen
TFT - 1024 x 768 minimum resolution with 1280x1024 screen with true colour being preferable

Operating System
Windows 7 64 bit (all programs are going to be 64 bit in their new versions)

Processor
3ghz + intel processor secc2 technology

Battery
Lithium Ion – As high a battery life as possible with spec

Hard Drive
720rpm 500Gb minimum

Memory
4gb Minimum 6 or 8gb+ preferred

Graphics
1gb dedicated preferable, 526mb dedicated will do