Processors and Graphics Cards

NotVeryTechie 11:40 05 Mar 08

Hi there

I am still trying to make a decision about which laptop to get. I have a thread in Absolute Beginners which gives the whole story, but I need a little help. I will be using the laptop for general work/some photoshop pic editing/playing a strategy game (Caesar III, maybe IV in the future). I want to load XP in a partition so need the drivers and am looking at a Toshiba.

The better systems listed on Toshiba's site don't have the XP drivers listed. So I am having to compromise.

1) Processors - Intel T5250 (1.5 GHz, 667 bus) or T5450 (1.66 GHZ, 667 bus) - Are these sufficient?

2) Graphics - ATI Mobility Radeon HD2400, there are two versions, one with 64Mb Ram and one with 128 Mb Ram. Is the 64Mb sufficient, or do I need the 128?

3) There is also an Intel GMA X3100 or an ATI X1200, both of these don't have dedicated Ram. Would this be ok, or just not enough?

I want to also have the option of attaching a flat panel monitor to the machine and would therefore need a graphics card that can handle this.

Hope you can help!!!

crosstrainer 11:52 05 Mar 08

No good for games as I said in your previous thread. If you want a lappy with good spec and graphics prepare yourself for a shock:

click here

click here

For this kind of money you could have a huge spec PC (a lot less money in fact) But this is the kind of money you will have to part with if you want a true gaming laptop.

NotVeryTechie 12:15 05 Mar 08

Dear Crosstrainer

I cannot afford that kind of spec. The game I play (it is the only game I play) was released for Windows 98 and, while it uses some graphic power, I am certain won't need that kind of power. I am looking for sufficient, not best.

crosstrainer 12:33 05 Mar 08