Problem with Scan Computers

hogi63 00:15 14 Apr 05

Read some of the other posts here in praise of Scan, and until my latest dealings with them, after 5 years of satisfied custom, I would have agreed.

I'm after advice really. I made a £645 order, and it arrived as quickly as ever but short 1Gb of RAM (£122 worth). I was quickly in touch with Scan, but after 2 weeks, and many telephone calls and emails they are still insisting it was packed. A free gift was also missing plus there was no papaerwork of any description.

Anyone out there had a similar experience and can advice me where to go next?? It's so frustrating and now losing me sleep hence writing this gone midnight. I cannot afford to just wave goodbye to £122, but am at a loss..... Their customer service has been shocking.

georgemac © 07:33 14 Apr 05

I am sure I have read a similar thread on here about scan where a forum user's order was short of a cpu. I have searched but cannot find it.

I am not an expert, I would advise you to contact your local citizin's advice bureau for how to proceed.

When you acceted delivery, how did you sign for the delivery, did you sign not inspected or not checked? You should always do this unless you open the order in front of the delivery driver.

rickf 08:31 14 Apr 05

Yes. the posting wqas some time ago, over a year at least and he did have to resort to the small claims caourt if I remember correctly.I think mhis handle is jim7 or something like that. Good luck with your claim. Personally, I would advise against making multiple orders because it creates more opprtunitiies for mistakes and disputes. Don't mean it in a " I told you so" way.

jimv7 09:13 14 Apr 05

rickf good memory,

With a bulk order from scan, the amd 2000 athlon cpu was missing, after emails, letters and posting to pca forum, one of the forum members smiffy99, very kindly offered his help in taking scan to the small claims court, we won the cost of the cpu and all expenses.