problem with BT & Pipex - have BT "Slammed" me?

palinka 18:27 01 Aug 09

(Originally posted on Helproom with slightly different title)
I have had broadband with Pipex for 5 years but I continue to pay phone line rental to BT. The Pipex plan I have (which I believe is no longer available to new customers) gives me a certain number of free calls at ANY time. I use these during the day. Then, by prefixing calls with 1280, I route evening calls via BT where I have had free evening and weekend calls under their “Unlimited Evening and Weekend Plan" for many years, (10 years?) since long before I used Pipex (BT's Plan has had a several changes of name during this time).
I have been using this combined system since August 2004.
Browsing BT’s website last week I noticed that our Calling Plan was shown NOT as evening and weekends but only weekends – so I ticked the relevant box to make it evenings as well (“at no extra cost” but committing me to a 12 month contract – which was no problem as I have been with BT for approx 30 years & have no intention of leaving.)
Today, 1st Aug, a letter from BT says, in effect , that I have switched ALL my calls back to BT. And of course I’m tied into this for 12 months with a penalty if I cancel.
I spent an hour on the phone to BT this morning trying to sort this out. I did NOT intend to “return” to BT; I merely ticked an option that was offered without strings, as far as I could tell, except for the 12 month commitment. ( yes I know, how stupid can you be!). But there was nothing on the website to indicate that what I opted for would “return all my calls to BT” (from Pipex). I reckon this is a case of “slamming” by BT.
One of the people I spoke to at BT today said . “not many people do [what I do] so it isn’t mentioned on the website”; & also that they don’t advertise the 1280 routing system – again, presumably, because BT don’t want people to know about it.