Please Help with These Specs!!

Souffle 18:02 02 Jul 03

I'm a newbie to this, but I know I want a PC to run Word and internet very quickly, plus capacity to play a few games (not necessarily state of the art)/ (audio) CDs and, if I can get it for under £700, (film) DVDs. I also definitely want a flat-screen monitor for space-saving and aesthetic reasons.

The sort of specs I'm currently looking at (based on Aug 2003 edition of PCA and advice from a couple of friends' advice) are:

Processor type: AMD Athlon XP 2400+

Processor speed: 2Ghz

Memory: 512MB DDR RAM

Storage: 120GB

CD-RW drive - 40/16 speed

Flat-panel monitor: Can anyone recommed a good, budget 15" display model? Also, am I likely to notice the difference between Class 3 and Class 1?

Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 9500 Pro, 128MB

Sound: onboard + Creative Inspire 5300 or Videologic ZXR 500 speakers.

What I really want to know is which of the above specs can I trim down / slash to the floor to reduce the overall cost bearing in mind my requirements, and which should I be upping (if any)?

At the end of the day the PC is for me to write on (as in Word) and carry out related internet research. To that end I need Word and the internet to operate quickly - certainly quicker than the age-old (10 years?) PC I'm currently using. Games would be a bonus, but not something I'm going to play every day, although the ability to play CDs whilst I work would be good. I am worried I'm being tempted by all the technology and will actually end up paying a lot more for a great system which actually has far more potential / power / capacity than I'm ever going to need.

Please help!!

Thanks.

citadel 18:16 02 Jul 03

class 1 screens are supposed to have no dead pixels. A cheaper graphics card will do if you do not intend to play many games.

Sir Radfordin 18:37 02 Jul 03

The advice still is really to buy the best you can afford though thats becoming less true as time goes on.