PC World do it again!!

Bluescreen 08:24 20 Jan 03
  Bluescreen 08:24 20 Jan 03

I work in retail so understand the problems we can encounter every day with customers.But I find PC World take the biscuit. If Asda are the biggest food retailer in the world(well..their owner is)you would expect them to be the most keenest priced around..and they are. Why then, when PC World are the biggest corperate retailer of computers,equipment,software,and hardware are they the most expensive!! This is my latest poor dealing with them. I wanted a Microsoft Sidewinder 1 for my boys pc. I went into P.C World in Newport Gwent and bought one for £29.99. Went home and then compared prices on the net. Argos=£16.99 Watford=£14.99+£3notes p&p,Corner shop in town =£18.99!. Well...this hit a nerve with me so went back to question price. Assistant just tried to fob me off saying that I had bought a Sidewinder 2(There is a big difference) and said they do not match e'tailers. But would match Argos and offered me a refund of £5.00 as Argos were selling sidewinder 2's at £25.99. I argued that he was wrong..he dissapeared for a while and came back and offered me a full refund with an attitude like"Go away and shop elsewhere". I did!
This is not the first time I have been dissapointed by the price of PC. World. It must be consumer appathy that keeps them in business.

€dstow 09:16 20 Jan 03

I'm not the least surprised by the PCW prices but I am also curious as to why you didn't do the price comparisons before you went shopping. By doing that you could have saved all that embarrassment and problems.

Sir Radfordin™ 09:28 20 Jan 03

Needed to buy a printer for someone this weekend, and couldn't do it online as it needed to be installed ASAP.