PayPal Credit Card Fraud

swanson2 23:49 08 Nov 05

Hi,

I post this as a possible warning to other users of PayPal.

I have been making purchases on line for many years and until a few weeks ago never had any problems.

I never reveal my credit card or any other details to spoof sites and am ultra catious about security.

However I recently had a large amount of money taken from my Credit Card Account via a number of PayPal transactions that I knew nothing about.

Fortunately I discovered the withdrawals fairly quickly and put a stop on my Credit Card.

I have now got a replacement Credit Card and my Credit Card company has fully refunded me for the money that was illegally talken from my account.

PayPal were not interested at all when I reported the theft to them - and trying to contact someone by telephone to discuss the matter proved nigh on impossible!

I have therefore cancelled my PayPal account and will never use them again.

Hope this might prevent someone else from having the same happen to them.

Harpur 00:00 09 Nov 05

this also happened to a friend of mine who used paypal on ebay. somebody was using his account to sell non existant goods and then transferring the money out to a seperate barclays account in england (we live in northern ireland). the first he knew about it was a letter from paypal threatening legal action for the lost sum of over £3000. did the same as above but thet are not interested even though there is a police investigation and the barclays account in england has been discovered and have now issued a court order. again they are not interested in his explanations but only in recovering the money they have had to repay to these people who bought the non existant goods.

a salutary lesson to us all! i have also now cancelled my paypal account.

spuds 09:42 09 Nov 05

I am trying to get my head around this one. How can someone gain access to your PayPal account through eBay purchases and selling procedures!.

sattman 11:13 09 Nov 05