PayPal

ened 14:16 03 Nov 04

Does anybody know anything about them?
I tried to register and they took both my Bank a/c details and Credit Card.
But then rejected my verification by saying I had failed to answer the telephone when I had.
Since then I have sent repeated Emails but received no reply.
I am sure they are trustworthy but do not consider it a good start to a business relationship.

961 14:21 03 Nov 04

How did you get to the Pay Pal site and did it have a genuine encrypted site?

ened 14:46 03 Nov 04

I want to start selling and it seemed the best way was thru Paypal.
The site started off: https.

When I first opened a PayPal account thru Ebay, I only registered a Credit Card and had no problems.

There were certainly no phone calls involved?

I have since added a bank account specifically for use with PayPal so I can withdraw my funds, but it was all done online, again, no phone calls.

This sounds odd to me.

hkvic 15:54 03 Nov 04

I've been using Paypal for over 2 years now - registered cards and bank accs. In all the time I have used them, I have never had a phone call, it's all been dealt with online.

ened 16:07 03 Nov 04

They instigated the call. The page for verification stated that I would receive a call and then I had to type a specific code into the keypad of my phone. I did it exactly as they said but, immediately I had done so, the screen came up claiming I failed to answer. No second chances and I am supposed to wait whilst they contact me by snail mail. I have mailed them but not received any response, not even an acknowledgement.

hkvic 16:15 03 Nov 04

If in doubt, first of all check your bank acc to make sure that no unauthorised withdrawls have been made.

Call them on 08707 307 191 (customer services)

You'll need:
* Your telephone number
* Your email address
* The last four digits of your credit card or bank account registered with PayPal.

ened 16:20 03 Nov 04