Online Banking free?

Tick Tock 15:12 28 May 04

I am thinking of using halifax online banking
are there any hidden charges.

mikeyb59 15:27 28 May 04

Can't comment about the Halifax as I am with the Royal Bank of Scotland. I have been using their Direct Banking service for close to three years.

The result - I visit my local branch about once a year, write two cheques a year (car & bike tax ), can't remember the last time I looked at a paper statement.

The convenience & ease of use is outstanding and all at no extra charge.

Please feel free to try it, ignore all the horror stories you may hear and, if you don't feel comfortable with it then you don't have to use it.

Hope this helps. Mike

Chronos 16:49 28 May 04

as far as i know the answer is no, i bank with the HSBC, and i do it all on-line..

antoni34 16:56 28 May 04

Been using their online banking 4 years and have never been charged.

I find that it`s a convenient way to pay bills etc without having to go to a local branch.

They are also keen on security - when I logged on yesterday there was a prominent warning about a scam email going round asking people to confirm all their security details - telling me to ignore it and giving a phone number to ring if I had replied (I hadn`t)

ste_bla 17:54 28 May 04

If you get your password wrong once you have to phone up a number to get it reset by tellingu half of it on phone half by email (took a day once) and then u log on and change it.

It is annoying and you (mite changed) had to pay local rate phone number..

I prefer Natwest who use random letters from 2 passwords sounds slow & hard but once use to it very easy.. also NW is normally upto date (2hrs or so) halifax was a working day depend atleast..

Saying that changed to NW at xmas so mite have changed... no hidden costs apart from off local phone call...

Andybear 18:41 28 May 04