New PC - help please, I'm sinking

Stevie B 24 16:10 01 Oct 05

Hi, I'm new to this computer malarkey and these forums but taking the plunge into buying home PC - I use a Mac at work and last PC was about 10 years ago.

Budget £500 - £600, like the sound of an AMD Athlon 64 over Pentium, must have decent 17in flat monitor, will be using it for internet, music downloads and some gaming.

Read loads of reviews but am sinking under morass of information - stuff about watford, mesh having poor after sales. Seems to me that Dell's prices never seem to be as advertised, evesham a bit pricier than others.

Am trying to avoid the Comet/Dixons/Currys/PC World route. So .... which one?

anchor 16:47 01 Oct 05

Duplicate posting; this is already in helproom.

click here

DuncanG 16:48 01 Oct 05

Stevie, my home pc was custom built but my work machine and laptop are both Dell and very impressed with the qaulity of the machines.

Prices are very competitive from what i see, though be carefull about speccing extras as this is where they seem to make thir money!!

wee eddie 18:01 01 Oct 05

Stick with it.

The Mini is within your budget.

stylehurst 16:52 02 Oct 05

Have a look at Novatech; good service

Knikerbeine 17:45 02 Oct 05

Novatech click here as recommended by stylehurst,make some decent pc's.

Kustom pc's are not bad either click here

click here for a list of pc manufacturers ratings.