New Mesh PC problem with hard drive detection

Nick9000 19:51 04 May 04

Having just received my new mesh PC on Friday I seem to have an intermittent problem when booting the machine. Twice over the weekend when the machine is booting my 2 SATA RAID hard drives are not detected by the BIOS. BIOS screen shows:

Scan devices please wait....
Press tab> key into user window
Hardware initiate failed. Please check device!!

If I reboot then the drives are both detected and the machine boots fine. The first time it happenned I ignored it but after the second time I became concerned. I have run a few tests and about 1 in 6-8 boots will result in this error.
I work in IT support and so was fearful of a motherboard fault.

I have phoned tech support and they advised me to check the boot order to make sure that the machine attempts to boot from CDROM first. This was as set on the machine.

After seeing some of the PC nightmares on this forum with Mesh I became a little concerned after initially putting in my order for a new machine. I would be grateful of any advice on where I should proceed from here. If I accept an offer to repair an intermittent fault then I may get stuck in a loop of Pc returns and enginner call outs saying that they can't find anything wrong with the machine and my chance to reject the machine and source a refund getting more difficult as time goes on.

spuds 20:22 04 May 04
  MESH Support 08:51 05 May 04
  vector 12:30 05 May 04

nic9000-Are you sure the your problem is the hard drive? I had similar problem and it turned out to be virus.

I called the technical support line and was told it was software error and to call the software support line.

iI called them up and they were able to help me straight away.

The amazing thing this was at 11.30 at nighttime. i thought i was going find out what time they would be opening next morning.

I have mesh computer of course and my family is in love with it.

Nick9000 13:16 05 May 04