Need a AMD PC Supplier

c.burkill 13:27 PM 15 Aug 11

I'm in the market for a new PC. I'm a graphic designer, so need a fair bit of power and ram. Haven't got a huge budget (£500 to £1k, preferably closer to the £500). I'm only after a base unit, nothing else. My current PC is a custom built AMD unit (was top of the range four years ago!).

I haven't been happy with the custom build, the thing has never seemed happy in it's own skin and want to go down the big brand route this time (dell, HP).

I always try and buy AMD, but I can't seem to find a brand name supplying machines with fast AMD chips in. Can anyone point me in the direction of a good AMD PC?

First time here, great site! Any help appreciated.

spuds 15:29 PM 15 Aug 11

There are quite a number of manufacturers that use AMD, and retailers that stock both AMD and Intel. You could try http;// for a start.

iscanut2 16:19 PM 15 Aug 11

Have a look at Cougar

Covergirl 01:57 AM 16 Aug 11

Hmmm . . . quite right. Currys highest priced AMD is about £300 while Comets top offering comes in at £499 for a AMD x4.

I agree with you about the custom build route. I did the same in 2001 and followed that up with an Acer off-the-shelf box in 2008-ish. It does everything I want, without all the bells and whistles hyped onto us by (what I would call) the "PC Review Industry".

Best of luck with your search and let us know what you eventually settled for (manufacturer, specs, price etc.).

The Kestrel 09:40 AM 16 Aug 11

I would have thought either of the two PCs, links below, would cover all your requirements.

HondaMan 13:08 PM 16 Aug 11

Go to Novatech as suggested. You should be able to get exactly what you want

smurf46 05:05 AM 18 Aug 11

Maybe a bit late to the party here but still, you want an AMD powerhouse try this link text

Plenty of multi tasking cpu cores, lots of ram and 2 hard drives (one for system/programs and one for data/scratch drive)