Moans and groans about manufacturers

Cliff-193952 11:02 27 Jan 05

Wanting to buy a new laptop for my wife, and being interested in the Tiny MediaBook 3000 (80g HD, 1024mb RAM)currently being sold for £799, I searched this forum to see if there were any comments. What did I find? Loads of people saying don't buy Tiny/Time under any circumstances. Yet I had a Tiny desktop PC for 5 years, and the only thing that went wrong was that the power switch failed in the first year of use, which was speedily replaced under warranty. Then, having replaced the Tiny with a Mesh (one that was recommended as a Best Buy in the PC Advisor power comuter listings), I though I would see what people were saying about Mesh. Again, loads of moans. Well, I've been running this since August 2004, and the only problem I have is that it won't restart - I have to switch on and off from the restart switch on the rear of the case - no big matter.
No, my main moan is with software and periperal suppliers, and their apparent inability to respond to simple questions, e.g.:-
(1) I have used Paint Shop Pro through from version 7 to the current version 9, buying upgrades as they have become available. However, the upgrades leave the previous versionon my computer. I emailed JASC via their website to ask if it was safe to uninstal previous versions. NO ANSWER
(2) I brought a Pentax *istDS DSLR, but on trying to load the supplied software, including the electronic manual, my computer crashed. I emailed Pentax, via their UK website to ask if there were any known problems. NO ANSWER