Maplins for a good laugh from an ex customer

SSmith 02:32 11 Mar 05

On monday I went into Maplins to buy a few things. In the past I've found their staff have no real idea what they are talking about but mondays experience topped them all. I sent them this email and as I look back on it I see the funny side but I don't go there for a laugh I go to get what I need. Obviously in keeping with the store ethos the customer service manager hasn't bothered answering it

Dear Sir/Madam

Since my visit to your Tottenham Court Road store I've been very curious as to how a business model based on getting rid of customers works?

As an australian who has lived in many countries I am used to varying levels of customer service and I have to say that in London it is uniformly terrible. However my experience yesterday was a new record.

I am a musician and estimate that in the last 12 months I have spent around £900 at Maplins. Yesterday I called in to buy a packet of patch
cords, some audio adapters and possibly a wi fi setup. I soon found the patch cords and adaptors but couldn't find the Wi Fi stuff I was looking for...

Then the fun began.

To sales assistant
'Hello, I'm looking for an 802.11 wi fi card with an antenna extention lead and high gain antenna'

'yes sir the television accessories are over here'

'I'm sorry but it's not for a television, it's to go inside my PC'

'I used this cable with my television and it worked fine'

'excuse me but I don't think you understand, it's wi fi stuff for the computer, 802.11'

'Here are the television antennas, this one works well in London'

'Er..... Look it's for the computer so I can set up a small wi fi network'

'Oh I'm sorry sir, we don't have televisions for computers'

'It's not a television for a computer I want! I want to set up a small wi fi network on my computer - do you understand what I am talking

'Yes sir, we don't have anything like that, you should go to a radio shop'