looking for 19" TFT Monitor

david.h 09:06 11 Nov 03

I am looking to replace my CRT 19" with a TFT 19".

I have seen a NOVATECH 19" ONLY £445 any one know anything about their monitors or can recommend another make at a reasonable price but with decent quality

try click here click here click here or read pcadvisor page132 in issue 101 going for a song

Big Elf 14:04 11 Nov 03

I've been using one of the Novatech branded 15" TFTs for 2 years now. There were no dead pixels on receipt and none have since developed. DVD playback is good but as I'm not a gamer I don't know what it would be like with fast action.

Although their email support is non-existent phone support is excellent.

Southernboy 15:13 11 Nov 03

They seem to offered as standard most times, but can they match CRT for both quality and reliability?

I have a 10" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro which is brilliant, but over large. Could I match the quality with TFT at reasonable cost?

Djohn 15:13 11 Nov 03

I have an AOC 17" TFT and it's excellent. the screen size is equivalent to a 19" CRT. but if you wish to spend the extra for the 19" model they do one of those as well. click here

Southernboy 15:13 11 Nov 03

For 10" please read 17"!!

Djohn 16:14 11 Nov 03

Yes, but If I was you I would hold back for a while, I have heard that there is a new type of monitor due for release. This is rumoured to have the best of both TFT, and CRT without the drawbacks of either.

I can't seem to find any more info on this yet, and so have no Idea of the quality, specs. or prices. Maybe someone could help with this? j.

david.h 18:40 11 Nov 03

thanks everone for the replies, its given me more options

david.h 17:38 12 Nov 03

just had a tour round retail outlets, several have broken down monitors. dixons had one displayed as "latest technology" when i asked the sales boy why it had such a poor display and could he adjust it the reply was no its old stock you can't improve the picture.